Who am I?

I was born a twin, being fraternal (not identical) we are not really like twins at all, other than being born within 15 minutes of each other, we share very few traits I find that interesting. When I was 7 my mother passed away after a long battle with breast cancer, leaving my dad behind to raise us four children. When I was 15 I tried to steal the school bus full of scared students, unsuccessfully I got all of 5 meters realised I had made a big mistake, I was banned from the bus and eventually banned from the school. When I was 17 my father passed away due to sudden cardiac arrest, leaving me and my siblings to work it out on our own, in the years following, when us four briefly lived together in the house our dad left us, my sister and her friends taught me how to party, it was fun. When I was 19 I began working in the Australian bush. Other than a childhood spent mostly outside this is where I most developed my in-depth understanding and passion for our planet's natural environment. Shortly after I started that job I went overseas on my first plane trip, I went to Thailand with my best friend. It was the start to a very active and healthy affinity with traveling our wide and bizarre world, I still haven't done enough of it and I probably never will? When I was 24 I graduated from university with a bachelor's degree in science, double majoring in Climate Change adaptation and Ecotourism. I never thought I'd go to university, sometimes I still dream that I didn't do it, but I totally did. I definitely struggled, something about 3 hour long lectures. It was at uni where I developed an understanding of the immense socio-political and environmental problems we face as a global society, I also learned how we might potentially face those issues. In 2014 I moved to Canada to live somewhere cold. Living in the mountains at a ski resort in British Columbia, I learned that we have to look after ourselves, in a balance, both physically and mentally to be able to achieve our goals in life. I stayed in various locations all across Canada for nearly 4 years. It is now 2018, and I am planning to pull off my most challenging project so far, driving from AK to ARG in a solar electric campervan, I believe it will combine all the skills I have learned in life so far and will challenge me to become what the world needs me to be. Who knows what's to follow after all that? If the past is any indicator of the future I bet it will be exciting! Life moves quickly, and so I've learned that, I want to make the most of it while I am here.

‚Äč

JOEL GREGORY HAYES

 Designed by Joel Gregory Hayes |Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia | joelgregoryhayes@gmail.com | +1 541 625 8238 (USA/CAN), +61475676095 (AUS)

  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • YouTube Social  Icon